My First Short Story- Drowning out the the Thoughts

Helllooooooooooo, 

For todays post I have decided to post my first short story to this blog. It is titled Drowning out the Thoughts. Just like the poem I wrote Sole e Luna (My Poem) I am certainly not a professional author, so if the story has a few faults and isn’t great please do not judge. 

So here it is. I hope you enjoy! 📝

“And the there was this huge explosion! And it went boom, boom, BOOM!” I watched as a buck-tooth child animatedly described a scene from his favourite show to his mother. His eyes gleamed excitedly as he talked, his mother gazing lovingly upon him as he spoke. I turned my head slightly and observed the other people on the bus: The elderly man with the canary yellow hat, the young woman with the continually fidgeting hands and the lady who somehow kept an expressionless face for the entire hour journey. I felt my phone vibrate in my pocket and I was pretty sure I already knew who the text was from. My suspicions were confirmed after a quick glance at the cracked screen. I gnawed at my already peeling lips and tensed, my jaw clenching. I turned the volume up on my iphone, adjusted my oversized headphones, closed my tired eyes and remembered.

The molten beams of the sun illuminated the dew on the grass as I hurried down the pathway of my house, my boots clicking and clacking as I went. My hands rested on the front gate ready to swing it open when I heard a voice. “Where do you think you’re going?” My mother exclaimed, her voice cracking in anger. She folded her arms against her chest and gave me a sharp look. “Outside, Mum.” My fists clenched and my body went rigid. “I am 16 now, you need to let me go out once in awhile! I can’t just stay in this house forever like some sort of caged animal!” I yelled, my normally mellow voice ferocious and strong.

I wiped my teary eyes and turned the volume up even louder in an attempt to drown out all the memories flooding through my mind. I looked to the side and saw the buck-tooth boy having his brown parker being zipped up by his mother. I smiled slightly as I thought about all the times my mum used to do that to my jacket when I was little. My anger was washed away by and replaced by absolute contentment. I nestled into the fabric seat of the bus, closed my eyes and remembered a happier memory as my body swayed to the constant sound of the bus motor….
The aromatic smell of the homemade pizza wafted into my nose as I wiped the river of leftover tomato paste off my hands. My mum burst into a blissful and hearty laugh as she pointed to my nose which little did I know, was speckled with flour. Her laughter was infectious and we kept giggling even after she wiped away the flour. We shared an undeniable love for pizza and always joked that if the base was our canvas the ingredients were our paints.

I was startled out of the joyous memory by the sudden jolt of the bus and the loud hiss of the engine. The mother and son I had been watching intently stood up from their seats and made their way down the centre of the bus, their hands interlocked. Only then do I realize how similar they look. The same amber eyes as big as saucers, the same angular jaw and the same lopsided smile that never seemed to go away, playing on their face.

As they got off the bus, the child noticed a small, black cat with eyes so bright they look like neon signs. He begun to race across the road, intrigued by the sight of it. The mother quickly saw what was going on and pulled him back, milliseconds from being squashed flat by a truck. I audibly gasped and caught a glimpse of the mother’s eye. They were filled to the brim with a kind of fear I have only ever seen in my own mother’s eyes. And that was how another memory seeped into my head….
My hands were ice cold but my forehead was burning, my entire being aching. Everything hurt. My scratchy throat, too dry to swallow. The migraine in my head feeling like a someone drilling a hole inside my brain. The rash rapidly spreading all over my body. I whimpered in pain, my mother’s gentle hand caressing my hair the only sense of comfort I had. She tried to sooth me with her rich voice but I could only hear her concern. “Am I going to be alright?” I quietly ask, gazing up hopefully at my mother. She kisses my forehead and replies saying “Of course you are darling” but her fearful and ever so scared eyes told another story….

I slowly drifted out of the pleasant memory, my mouth smiling at the thought. I sighed, and a sudden blade of longing pierced my heart. I didn’t want to admit it but I missed her so much it hurt, even though I saw her a few hours ago. I missed my Mum.

A single tear fell down my face and my top lip quivered. I took my headphones off my head, the blaring music I wasn’t paying attention to replaced by the steady sound of the bus and the noisy bird gossiping in the trees. I grabbed the edge of seat, and closed my eyes shut tightly. But that time no memories played in my mind, only the urge to grab my phone….

I couldn’t resist it. I took my phone out of my bag, and dialled my Mum’s phone number. My fingers fumbled as I pressed the numbers, tears blurring my vision. The phone rang, once, twice, three times. She picked up.

“Hello” My mother asked, curious to see who was calling.

 

After hearing her instantly recognisable voice I hesitated for a second, unable to form words, “Mummy, I am coming home”

 

 

So that is it for today!

If you enjoyed this blog please make sure to follow it.

Please stay friendly in the comments section below and have a great day 🙂

 

Love Misabella xx

 

10 thoughts on “My First Short Story- Drowning out the the Thoughts

  1. Goshh its soo amazingg!!!! You wrtie so well and the way you use your words is incredible!! Pleasee do keep writing!!!! I went intooo the story and almost became super emotional.
    Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

